The Council of Advisers for Applied Research advises on the research themes and steers the direction of the Hong Kong Academy of Finance’s applied research projects. It also provides guidance on the required expertise and potential researchers/partners for these projects.

The Council of Advisers for Applied Research is composed of representatives from the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, local financial regulatory bodies, the financial industry and established local and overseas academics and researchers with the relevant expertise.

  • Mr Darryl CHAN

    Deputy Chief Executive
    Hong Kong Monetary Authority

  • Mr Henri ARSLANIAN

    Co-founder and Managing Partner, Nine Blocks Capital Management
    Adjunct Associate Professor, Faculty of Business and Economics, The University of Hong Kong

  • Professor Franklin ALLEN

    Professor of Finance and Economics 
    Vice-Dean (Research and Faculty) 
    Business School 
    Brevan Howard Centre 
    Imperial College London


  • Professor Beatrice WEDER DI MAURO

    Centre for Economic Policy Research
    Professor, International Economics
    Faculty Associate, Centre for Finance and Development


  • Professor Tarun CHORDIA

    R. Howard Dobbs, Jr. Chair and Professor in Finance
    Goizueta Business School
    Emory University

  • Dr Dong HE

    Deputy Director, Monetary and Capital Markets Department
    International Monetary Fund

  • Professor Lars Peter HANSEN

    Nobel Laureate in Economics, 2013
    Professor in Finance, David Rockefeller Distinguished Service Professor and Professor in Statistics
    The University of Chicago Booth School of Business

  • Professor Zhiguo HE

    Fuji Bank and Heller Professor of Finance
    Co-Director of Fama-Miller Center
    The University of Chicago Booth School of Business

  • Professor Sophie MOINAS

    Professor of Finance
    IAE Toulouse School of Management
    and Toulouse School of Economics

  • Professor John ROGERS

    Professor of Economics
    Fanhai International School of Finance



    Chief Executive Officer

  • Mr Larry CAO


  • Mr Justin CHAN

    Advisor to Co-Chief Executives
    The Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

  • Professor Kalok CHAN

    Dean of the College of Business
    City University of Hong Kong

  • Mr Donald CHEN

    Executive Director (Banking Policy), Hong Kong Monetary Authority

  • Mr Clement CHEUNG

    Chief Executive Officer
    Insurance Authority

  • Dr Lillian CHEUNG

    Executive Director (Research), Hong Kong Monetary Authority

  • Mr Yan Chee CHENG

    Managing Director
    The Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority

  • Mr Enoch FUNG

    Chief Executive Officer, The Hong Kong Academy of Finance
    Executive Director, Hong Kong Institute for Monetary and Financial Research

  • Professor Lapman LEE

    Professor of Practice (ESG, FinTech, Governance), The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
    Area convenor of the HK Polytechnic University Center for Economic Sustainability and Entrepreneurial Finance (CESEF)

  • Mr Rico LEUNG

    Executive Director
    Securities and Futures Commission


  • Professor Chen LIN

    Associate Dean (Research and Knowledge Exchange)
    Chair of Finance; Stelux Professor in Finance
    Director, Centre for Financial Innovation and Development
    DBA Programme Director
    Faculty of Business and Economics, The University of Hong Kong

  • Professor Kar Yan TAM

    Dean of Business and Management
    Chair Professor
    The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

  • Ms Salina YAN

    Permanent Secretary for Financial Services
    and the Treasury (Financial Services)
    Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau
    The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China

Last revision date: 22 March 2024